Friday Poem: “I can wish it otherwise, but I am learning.”

poem from NaPoWriMo2014 that remains appropriate to this day

There is a limit to how much I’m able
               and willing to handle
I am not the immortal bamboo
               or the cockroach
My body is not tireless
               my feet can grow heavy
My brain can ache with the weight
               of a thousand decisions.
I can wish it otherwise but I am learning

To stride, bold, until I must rest,
               and then to rest, unapologetic,
To breathe a thousand airs, softly,
               and to let the blanket settle over me at night,
and to forget the thousand chores undone
and the world, still broken.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. SEWER Black Metal
    Sep 30, 2015 @ 20:47:21

    I shared your post 16 however it seems your WP theme doesnt show up well under the browser Demonecromancy I had to use Firefox… hope it is fixed ! https://bestblackmetal.wordpress.com/2015/09/23/sewer-the-most-satanic-black-metal-band-ever/

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment